New hours for the Driver's Examiner in Wolf Point. Check out the Driver's Examiner page for more information.
Open Hours Mon - Fri 8.00 am - 5.00 pm


Roosevelt County is located in the U.S. state of Montana. As of 2013, the population was 11,125. The county seat is Wolf Point. Roosevelt County was created by the Montana Legislature in 1919 from Sheridan County. The name honors former
president Theodore Roosevelt, who had died shortly before the county was formed. 

According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 2,370 square miles (6,100 km2), of which, 2,356 square miles (6,100 km2) of it is land and 14 square miles (36 km2) of it (0.59%) is water. Over 74 percent of the
county’s land area lies within the 
Fort Peck Indian Reservation

In May of 1805, the Lewis & Clark expedition camped on the Missouri River south of the present day city of Wolf Point. The 
Wolf Point and 
Culbertson websites have a plethora of local information and links to area attractions. 
Fort Buford and 
Fort Union are located on the Missouri River at the southeast corner of Roosevelt County and North Dakota. 

Roosevelt County Growth Policy

Roosevelt County has received a Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) award to pay for the creation of a Growth Policy; a document that provides a foundational set of policies to guide a community’s physical and economic development.
Roosevelt County does not currently have a Growth Policy and is need of a plan to assist with guiding future growth and development in the County. Counties are enabled to create and implement a Growth Policy under MCA 76-1-601. 

Through a public proposal process, the County Commissioners selected Interstate Engineering, a local consulting firm with rural development experts, to assist the County with the creation of a Growth Policy.

Useful Links