Welcome to Roosevelt County Montana

Roosevelt County is located in the U.S. state of Montana. As of 2013, the population was 11,125. The county seat is Wolf Point. Roosevelt County was created by the Montana Legislature in 1919 from Sheridan County. The name honors former
president Theodore Roosevelt, who had died shortly before the county was formed. 

According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 2,370 square miles (6,100 km2), of which, 2,356 square miles (6,100 km2) of it is land and 14 square miles (36 km2) of it (0.59%) is water. Over 74 percent of the
county’s land area lies within the 
Fort Peck Indian Reservation

In May of 1805, the Lewis & Clark expedition camped on the Missouri River south of the present day city of Wolf Point. The Wolf Point and Culbertson websites have a plethora of local information and links to area attractions. 
Fort Buford and Fort Union are located on the Missouri River at the southeast corner of Roosevelt County and North Dakota. 

Our Communities